Zum Inhalt springen (ALT+1) Zum Hauptmenü springen (ALT+2) Zur Suche springen (ALT+3) Zum den Quicklinks springen (ALT+4)

Innovative membrane distillation for gold and palladium recovery in the PCB industry

In the frame of the project MD-Gold the membrane distillation (MD) will be adapted and further developed in the use of recovery of palladium and gold in the printed circuit board industry (PCB). On the base of laboratory tests a suitable membrane module will be developed and operating parameters will be optimized. There on, the potential of the membrane distillation will be demonstrated in the printed circuit board industry and a focus on the decrease of thermal energy demand as well as based on lower process temperatures the potential for solar thermal integration and available waste heat will be laid under economic terms. The result of the project is an optimized MD-plant on a laboratory scale with suitable membrane modules and operating parameters, on this basis a scale-up concept for a larger unit will prepared.

Valuable precious metals such as gold and palladium are used for surface treatment in electroplating processes in the printed circuit board industry. In these processes, there is no need to rinse the plated printed circuit board after the actual active bath. This results in large amounts of "contaminated" wastewater with the electroplating substances gold and palladium in it. Due to the lack of efficient recovery technologies, these wastewater is currently unused discarded. As a result, the critical raw materials Gold and Palladium are irretrievably lost with the waste water.

The recovery of these valuable materials requires efficient systems for the concentration of liquid substances. Currently used conventional separation techniques for concentrating (removal of water) are thermal evaporation, or pressure-driven membrane separation process. These conventional separation processes usually have a relatively high thermal and / or electric power consumption.

The membrane distillation (MD) is an energy efficient alternative with a lower thermal and electrical energy consumption at a low temperature level. The thermal energy required for the MD could easily be provided by carbon-neutral heat from other production processes the printed circuit board production or from other renewable energy sources as solar thermal.

The aim of the project MD-Gold is to develop an energy-efficient and sustainable process for the recovery of the valuable raw materials gold and palladium from processes of the printed circuit board production. This should be done through the adaptation and development of the membrane distillation (MD) process to the chemical, physical and process-technical characteristics of the surface treatment processes.

The result of the project will be an optimized membrane distillation plant on a laboratory scale with precise knowledge of process parameters such as flow rate, temperatures, power consumption, etc.. Furthermore, an optimized and characterized membrane module will be developed and the suitable operating parameters will be determined as well as a technical and economic concept for a scale-up, which allows a monetary evaluation of the technology, will be developed.


Project manager

DI (FH) Christian Platzer

Customer

Bundesministeriums für Verkehr, Innovation und Technologie (BMVIT)

Project partner

AT&S Austria Technologie & Systemtechnik Aktiengesellschaft

Rotreat Abwasserreinigung GmbH

Status

ongoing

Zum Inhalt springen (ALT+1) Zum Hauptmenü springen (ALT+2) Zur Suche springen (ALT+3) Zum den Quicklinks springen (ALT+4)

MD-Gold - Innovative Membrandestillation zur Gold- und Palladiumrückgewinnung in der Leiterplattenindustrie

Im Rahmen des Projektes MD-Gold wird die Membrandestillation (MD) für den Einsatz zur Rückgewinnung von Palladium und Gold in der Leiterplattenindustrie adaptiert und weiterentwickelt. Anhand von Laborversuchen wird ein geeignetes Membranmodul entwickelt und die Betriebsparameter optimiert. Darauf aufbauend wird das Potential der Membrandestillation für die Anwendung in dem Leiterplattenbetrieb dargestellt und ein Fokus auf die Senkung des thermischen Energiebedarfes sowie aufgrund der geringeren Prozesstemperaturen auf die Möglichkeit zur Einbindung von Solarthermie und vorhandener Abwärme unter wirtschaftlichen Bedingungen gelegt. Das Ergebnis des Projektes ist eine optimierte MD-Anlage im Labormaßstab mit geeignetem Membranmodul und Betriebsparametern, worauf aufbauend ein Scale-up Konzept für eine größere Anlage ausgearbeitet wird.

In der Leiterplattenindustrie werden in Galvanikprozesse wertvolle Edelmetalle wie Gold und Palladium zur Oberflächenbehandlung eingesetzt. In diesen Prozessen besteht die Notwendigkeit die galvanisierte Leiterplatte nach dem eigentlichen Aktivbad abzuspülen. Dabei entstehen große Mengen an mit den Galvanikwirkstoffen Gold und Palladium „verunreinigtem“ Abwasser. Mangels effizienter Rückgewinnungstechnologien werden diese Abwässer derzeit ungenutzt verworfen. Die kritischen Rohstoffe Gold und Palladium gehen dabei mit dem Spülwasser unwiederbringlich verloren.

Die Rückgewinnung dieser Wertstoffe erfordert effiziente Systeme zur Aufkonzentration flüssiger Stoffsysteme. Derzeit eingesetzte konventionelle Trennverfahren zum Aufkonzentrieren (Abscheidung von Wasser) sind thermische Eindampfung oder druckgetriebene Membrantrennverfahren. Diese konventionellen Trennverfahren weisen jedoch meist einen relativ hohen thermischen und/oder elektrischen Energieverbrauch auf.

Die Membrandestillation (MD) bietet eine energieeffiziente Alternative mit geringerem thermischem als auch elektrischem Energieverbrauch auf niedrigem Temperaturniveau. Der thermische Energiebedarf für die MD könnte problemlos durch Abwärme aus anderen Produktionsprozessen der Leiterplattenproduktion oder anderen erneuerbarer Energiequellen wie Solarthermie klimaneutral bereitgestellt werden.

Ziel des Projekts MD-Gold ist es ein energieeffizientes und nachhaltiges Verfahren zur Rückgewinnung der kritischen Rohstoffe Gold und Palladium aus Prozessen der Leiterplattenerzeugung zu entwickeln. Dies soll durch die Anpassung und Weiterentwicklung  des Membrandestillations (MD)-Verfahren an die chemischen, physikalischen und prozesstechnischen Besonderheiten der Oberflächenbehandlungsprozessen erfolgen.

Das Ergebnis des Projektes wird eine optimierte Membrandestillationanlage im Labormaßstab mit genauen Kenntnissen über Prozessparameter wie Durchfluss, Temperaturen, Energieverbrauch etc.


Projektleitung

DI (FH) Christian Platzer

Auftraggeber

Bundesministeriums für Verkehr, Innovation und Technologie (BMVIT)

Projektpartner

AT&S Austria Technologie & Systemtechnik Aktiengesellschaft

Rotreat Abwasserreinigung GmbH

Status

laufend